MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE ENGLISH MONTREAL SCHOOL BOARD

A Special Board Meeting of the English Montreal School Board has taken place on Thursday, January 18, 2024, at 7:00 P.M. in the Laurence Patterson Room, 6000 Fielding Avenue.

Commissioners Present Me Joe Ortona, Chair Mr. Agostino Cannavino – via TEAMS Mr. Mario Bentrovato, Commissioner – via TEAMS Ms. Maria Corsi, Parent Commissioner – via TEAMS Ms. Sophie De Vito, Commissioner – via TEAMS Mr. Jamie Fabian, Commissioner – via TEAMS Ms. Rosemarie Federico, Parent Commissioner Mr. Julien Feldman, Commissioner Ms. Ellie Israel, Commissioner Mr. James Kromida, Commissioner Mr. Pietro Mercuri, Commissioner Mr. Mario Pietrangelo, Commissioner – via TEAMS Mr. Tony Speranza, Parent Commissioner – via TEAMS

<u>Commissioners Not Present</u> Mr. Joseph Lalla, Commissioner – Regrets Mr. Daniel Tatone, Parent Commissioner

<u>Administrators Present:</u> Mr. Nicholas Katalifos, Director General Me Nathalie Lauzière, Secretary General

Ms. Darlene Kehyayan, Regional Director, East Ms. Livia Nassivera, Director, Financial Services Ms. Angela Spagnolo, Regional Director, AEVS Ms. Brigida Sellato, Consultant, Secretariat General

1.	Land Acknowledgement
	The Chair acknowledged that the English Montreal School Board is located on the traditional ancestral and unceded territory of the Kanien'kehá:ka. We are grateful to live, learn, and work in Tiohtià:ke which has long been a site of meeting and exchange for many First Nations and is currently home to diverse groups of indigenous and other peoples. As a School Board, it is important that we acknowledge the historic and ongoing role of educational institutions in perpetuating injustices against indigenous communities. We are committed to educating staff and students about the true history and current realities of the indigenous peoples of what we now call Canada. Celebrating the cultures contributions and knowledge of the many First Nations Inuit and Métis communities, listening to and amplifying indigenous voices and partnering with local indigenous community members. We offer this acknowledgement as a first step and public commitment to our ongoing process towards reconciliation and justice for indigenous peoples and communities.
2.	Confirmation of Notice of the Meeting
	The Secretary General, Me Nathalie Lauzière, confirmed that proper notice of this meeting was given.
3.	Approval of Agenda
	IT WAS MOVED BY MR. PIETRO MERCURI AND RESOLVED THAT the agenda be approved as presented.
	Vote: 11-1-0 Adopted, (Mr. A. Cannavino voted against and Mr. M. Bentrovato not present for the vote)
	<u>Resolution # 24-01-18-3</u>
	Mr. Mario Bentrovato joined the meeting at 7:03 p.m.
4.	Question Period
	Questions from Mr. Chris Eustace were addressed by the Chair, Mr. Joe Ortona, regarding the following:
	 The logistics and management of meetings The election of the Vice-Chair of the Board
5.	Election of Vice-Chair of the Board
	WHEREAS according to section 9.3 of By-Law no. 11 on Internal Governance, the Vice-Chair is elected from among the members of the Council of Commissioners;
	WHEREAS according to section 9.3 of said By-Law, all submission forms sent by Commissioners who want to present themselves as Vice-Chair of the Board were received and acknowledged by the Secretary General;
	WHEREAS for the election of the Vice-Chair of the Board, the Council of Commissioners considered the qualities of Servant Leadership, recognized integrity, ethical standards, honesty, transparency, diligence, pragmatism, efficiency, communication skills and consensus-builder, pursuant to By-Law no. 11;
	WHEREAS the following Commissioner has submitted his candidacy for the election of Vice-Chair of the Board;
	James Kromida

	WHEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:
	IT WAS MOVED BY MS. ROSEMARIE FEDERICO THAT effective January 18, 2024, Mr. James Kromida be designated as Vice-Chair of the Board.
	Vote: 11-2-0, Adopted (Mr. A. Cannavino and Mr. M. Bentrovato voted against) <u>Resolution # 24-01-18-5</u>
6.	Adjournment
	IT WAS MOVED BY MS. ELLIE ISRAEL AND UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED THAT the meeting be adjourned at 7:11 p.m.
	Vote: 13-0-0, Adopted <u>Resolution # 24-01-18-6</u>
	Signed in Montreal,
	Mr. Joe Ortona, Chair Me Nathalie Lauzière, Secretary General