MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE ENGLISH MONTREAL SCHOOL BOARD

A Special Board Meeting of the English Montreal School Board has taken place on Tuesday, June 6, 2023, at 7:00 P.M. via TEAMS.

Commissioners Present

Me Joe Ortona, Chair

Mr. Agostino Cannavino, Vice-Chair

Ms. Maria Corsi, Parent Commissioner

Ms. Sophie De Vito, Commissioner

Mr. Jamie Fabian, Commissioner

Ms. Rosemarie Federico, Parent Commissioner

Mr. Julien Feldman, Commissioner

Ms. Ellie Israel, Commissioner

Mr. James Kromida, Commissioner

Mr. Joseph Lalla, Commissioner

Mr. Pietro Mercuri, Commissioner

Mr. Mario Pietrangelo, Commissioner

Mr. Tony Speranza, Parent Commissioner

Mr. Daniel Tatone, Parent Commissioner

Commissioners Not Present

Mr. Mario Bentrovato, Commissioner

Administrators Present:

Mr. Nicholas Katalifos, Director General

Ms. Pelagia Nickoletopoulos, Assistant Director General, Education

Me Jack Chadirdjian, Assistant Director General, Administration

Me Nathalie Lauzière, Secretary General

Mr. Jimmy Giannacopoulos, Sector Director - West

Ms. Angela Spagnolo, Sector Director – AEVS

Mr. Mike Cohen, Manager, Marketing & Communications

Ms. Brigida Sellato, Consultant, Secretariat General

1. Land Acknowledgement

The Chair acknowledged that the English Montreal School Board is located on the traditional ancestral and unceded territory of the Kanien'kehá:ka. We are grateful to live, learn, and work in Tiohtià:ke which has long been a site of meeting and exchange for many First Nations and is currently home to diverse groups of indigenous and other peoples. As a School Board, it is important that we acknowledge the historic and ongoing role of educational institutions in perpetuating injustices against indigenous communities. We are committed to educating staff and students about the true history and current realities of the indigenous peoples of what we now call Canada. Celebrating the cultures contributions and knowledge of the many First Nations Inuit and Métis communities, listening to and amplifying indigenous voices and partnering with local indigenous community members. We offer this acknowledgement as a first step and public commitment to our ongoing process towards reconciliation and justice for indigenous peoples and communities.

At 7:04 p.m. Mr. Julien Feldman joined the meeting.

At 7:11 p.m. Ms. Ellie Israel joined the meeting.

2. <u>Confirmation of Notice of the Meeting</u>

The Secretary General, Me Nathalie Lauzière, confirmed that proper notice of this meeting was given.

Mr. Agostino Cannavino motioned to adjourn the meeting immediately and maintain the electoral map that is currently in place. He stated furthermore that this meeting was not valid as the only item on the Agenda is not admissible due to the fact that the deadlines have not been met.

Vote: 2-11-0, Motion Rejected

In favor	A. Cannavino, J. Lalla
Against	J. Ortona, M. Corsi, S. De Vito, J. Fabian, R. Federico, J. Feldman, E. Israel, P. Mercuri,
	M. Pietrangelo, T. Speranza, D. Tatone
Abstain	
Not Present	J. Kromida

3. Approval of Agenda

IT WAS MOVED BY MR. DANIEL TATONE AND RESOLVED THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

Vote: 11-2-0, Adopted (A. Cannavino and J. Lalla against, J. Kromida not present for the vote)

Resolution # 23-06-06-3

4. Question Period

There were no questions from the public.

At 7:16 p.m. Mr. James Kromida joined the meeting.

5. 2024 School Board Elections – Proposed Electoral Divisions

WHEREAS the reply received from the Minister of Education to Resolution # 23-04-12-5 adopted by the Council of Commissioners on April 12, 2023, was to not grant the additional five wards requested by the Board and thus remaining with the existing ten electoral divisions;

WHEREAS the scenario of ten electoral divisions that was submitted to the Council of Commissioners was validated by the Ministère de l'Éducation;

IT WAS MOVED BY MR. PIETRO MERCURI THAT the proposal for the division of ten (10) electoral divisions of the Board's territory be approved, as presented in the submitted documentation.

Amendment #1:

Mr. Lalla proposed that the entire town of Montreal West be included in the proposed Ward 5.

Vote: 4-10-0, Motion Rejected

Resolution #23-06-06-5.1

In favor	A. Cannavino, J. Feldman, E. Israel, J. Lalla
Against	J. Ortona, M. Corsi, S. De Vito, J. Fabian, R. Federico, J. Kromida, P. Mercuri, M. Pietrangelo,
	T. Speranza, D. Tatone
Abstain	

Amendment #2:

Mr. Lalla proposed that the proposed Ward 5 include all of Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, eastwards to the boundary with the City of Westmount, but that Marymount Academy remain part of proposed Ward 2.

Vote: 3-11-0, Motion Rejected

Resolution #23-06-06-5.2

In favor	A. Cannavino, E. Israel, J. Lalla
Against	J. Ortona, M. Corsi, S. De Vito, J. Fabian, R. Federico, J. Feldman, J. Kromida, P. Mercuri,
	M. Pietrangelo, T. Speranza, D. Tatone
Abstain	

Amendment #3:

Mr. Cannavino proposed to keep the electoral map as is from 2018.

Vote: 2-12-0, Motion Rejected

Resolution #23-06-06-5.3

In favor	A. Cannavino, J. Lalla
Against	J. Ortona, M. Corsi, S. De Vito, J. Fabian, R. Federico, J. Feldman, J. Kromida, E. Israel, P. Mercuri,
	M. Pietrangelo, T. Speranza, D. Tatone
Abstain	

	Mr. Tony Spen	Mr. Tony Speranza moved to end discussion and call the vote on the main motion.		
	Mr. Mario Pietrangelo seconded Mr. Speranza's motion.			
	Vote: 11-3-0,	Adopted Resolution #23-06-06-5.4		
	In favor	J. Ortona, M. Corsi, S. De Vito, J. Fabian, R. Federico, J. Feldman, J. Kromida, P. Mercuri, M. Pietrangelo, T. Speranza, D. Tatone		
	Against Abstain	A. Cannavino, E. Israel, J. Lalla		
		VED BY MR. PIETRO MERCURI AND RESOLVED THAT the proposal for the division of toral divisions of the Board's territory be approved, as presented in the submitted		
	Vote: 12-2-0,	Adopted Resolution # 23-06-06-5		
	In favor Against Abstain	J. Ortona, M. Corsi, S. De Vito, J. Fabian, R. Federico, J. Feldman, J. Kromida, E. Israel, P. Mercuri, M. Pietrangelo, T. Speranza, D. Tatone A. Cannavino, J. Lalla		
Ď.	Adjournment IT WAS MO 8:08 p.m.	VED BY MS. MARIA CORSI AND RESOLVED THAT the meeting be adjourned at		
	Vote: 13-0-1,	Adopted (A. Cannavino abstained) Resolution # 23-06-06-6		
	Signed in Mor	ntreal,		
	Me Joe Ortona	, Chair Me Jack Chadirdjian, Acting Secretary General		