### **CRITERIA FOR ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS**

### Academic Honours – recognition of student academic achievement

- Must have 3.8 GPA or higher
- Appears on transcript and parchment

## Program Achievement Award – recognition of a student's academic excellence within their program of study

- Recognition of Academic Excellence in Program of Study
- Must have 3.8 GPA or higher
- Must be a graduating student from a one, two or three year program

Coordinators and faculty nominate and select Program Achievement Award winner.

# Board of Governors' Award- Program Area Achievement Award – recognition of a student's academic excellence within the Program Area cluster

- Recipient must be chosen from pool of Program Achievement Award winners
- Must have a 3.8 GPA or higher
- Must be a graduating student from a one, two or three year program

## Coordinators and faculty review Program Achievement Award winners and select Program Area Achievement Award winner

### Governor General's Award - Award Information

- Recipient must be chosen from pool of Academic Achievement Award (Program Area) winners
- Must have 4.0 GPA
- Must be graduating from a two or three year program
- Other criteria for consideration:
  - Based on academic excellence
  - Amount of work done by candidate in program
  - Documentation to support the candidate
  - Leadership abilities
  - Letters of recommendation from faculty
  - Involvement and commitment to one's Educational Institution and Community
  - Relative difficulty of outcomes on a program-by-program basis

### Award winner selected by Deans and Program Coordinators

## President's Award - The President's Award recognizes one graduating student each academic year for excellence in student leadership and contribution to the community and College.

- Student must apply for this award
- Must have 3.8 GPA or higher
- Also considers extracurricular activities the student is involved in within the community and the College
- A letter of reference from a faculty member is also required

### Award winner selected by Deans and Program Coordinators